Boys Basketball Team Sets Record Seasn

This season was a huge success for our Boys Basketball team! East Point won a school record 11 game. In our first year competing with local and regional public schools, along with private schools in the area, we compiled an 11-9 season. We ended the season on a 6 game winning streak to solidify a winning record for the year. The team had a mix of veteran returners and talented newcomers. We had great leadership from our 3 captains: Reese Hadley, John-Allen Mower, and Jarrett Butler along with multi-year players: Collin Flagg-Johnson, Porter Reyes, Jaden Billie, Daniel Jeffries, and Landis Watkins-Edens. Newcomers Lebron Bolton, James Elkins, Isaiah Oree, Beckett Riley, Nathan Delk, and Preston Thompson all brought great skill sets that elevated our team’s performance.

Wins this season include victories over Cardinal Newman (x2), Northside Christian (x2), Northside Middle, Pelion, Pleasant Hill (x3), Ben Lippen and PAC. Even in our 9 losses we were extremely competitive, losing three games by only 3 points or less and losing two games by 6 points or less. Many of the schools we competed against had 2-5 times the number of enrolled students in their schools, which shows despite our size we show strength in our numbers. 

The players showed great improvement throughout the year and really progressed their offensive skills and team defense. The coaches would also like to express their gratitude to the parents who gave their time to get the players to and from practices and games; as well as the support from the cheerleaders and students who attended our games. This support made East Point Academy an exciting environment and a tough place for opponents to play. Below is a list of the end of season awards. 

 Go Pandas! 

Hall of Fame Honoree Reese Hadley.

Hall of Fame- Reese Hadley

Hall of Fame- John Allen Mower

Hall of Fame honoree John Allen Mower.
  1. Lebron Bolton- Most Improved .
  2. James Elkins – Gym Rat Award
  3. Colin Johnson-Flagg- Teammate of the year
  4. Reese Hadley- MVP
  5. Nathan Delk- Most Coachable  
  6. John Allen Mower- 110% Award
  7. Porter Reyes- Glue Guy Award
  8. Jarrett “Bo” Butler – Leadership Award 
  9. Preston Thompson- Hardest Worker 
  10. Daniel Jeffries – Best 3pt Shooter
  11. Landis Watkins-Edens – Best Shot Blocker 
  12. Jaden Billie- Best Free Throw Shooter
  13. Beckett Riley- Competitor Award 
  14. Isaiah Oree- Rookie of the Year


Kahlil Sanders, Patrick Flangan, Jaxon Bowers, Gavin Reyes, and Samuel Hallowanger were also recognized for their dedication to the team as managers.

Leave a Reply