About

Board of Directors

Home > About/ > Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the governing board for East Point Academy and will govern in accordance with the Charter School Act of 1996. The board’s focus is supporting high student achievement and ensuring sound fiscal management. The Board will have ultimate authority for the following activities:

  • Contracting for services, including but not limited to transportation, financial accounting, and legal services
  • Develop pay scales, performance criteria, and discharge policies for its employees
  • Deciding all matters related to the operation of the charter school, including budgeting, curriculum, and operating procedures
  • Ensuring that the school will adhere to the same health, safety, civil rights, and disability rights requirements as are applied to all public schools operating in the South Carolina Public Charter School District
  • Submit required reports annually to the South Carolina Public Charter School District and the State Department of Education
  • Submit a charter renewal request at the end of the ten year approval period
  • Enforce the adherence of the charter school to the same financial audits, audit procedures, and audit requirements as are applied to the public schools operating in the South Carolina Public Charter School District
  • Conform to state and federal laws and regulations, school policies, and professional ethics, including the Freedom of Information Act
  • Design its policies regarding the student records, administrative records, and meetings as are required of the public schools operating in the South Carolina Public Charter School District

Board Members

Lora Prill

Board Chair
lprill@eastpointsc.org
Partner, ADCO

Alan Buck

Vice Chair
abuck@eastpointsc.org
Client Relations Executive, Ingenico Mobile Solutions

Alice O’Connor

Treasurer
aoconnor@eastpointsc.org
Owner/Founder of Procuredly

Wendy Early

Board Secretary
wearly@eastpointsc.org
Secretary

Lisa Cole

Board Member At Large
lcole@eastpointsc.org
Owner Operator, Vestra Lingua Publishing

David Chao

Board Member
dchao@eatpointsc.org
Chao & Associates Engineering

Shelby Leonardi

Board Member
sleonardi@eastpointsc.org
Legal Writing Instructor at the University of South Carolina School of Law

Dr. Mieke Perez

Board Member
mperez@eastpointsc.org
Physician, Palmetto Health Hospital System

Paul Wu

Board Member
pwu@eastpointsc.org
Restauranteur